Vol I No. 7
History & Theology

Reflection on Holy Communion - with choral music.

by sinetortus

The Lord’s Supper, Nicholas Poussin

From his Second Series of seven paintings on the Sacraments,

painted in a style that is very consciously not Baroque, for his friend the French ambassador to the Papal Court,

Paul Freart de Chantelou from 1644 to 1648.


To access the audio. please click the following link


Introit: Cibavit eos — William Byrd (1540-1623)

(Antiphon) Cibavit eos ex adipe frumenti, alleluia: et de petra melle saturavit eos, alleluia, alleluia, alleluia. Psalm: Exsultate Deo adjutori nostro: jubilate Deo Jacob. Gloria Patri. repeat Antiphon.
He fed them also with the finest wheat flour, alleluia: and with honey from the rock hath he satisfied them, alleluia, alleluia, alleluia. Psalm: Sing we merrily unto God our helper: make a cheerful noise unto the God of Jacob. Gloria Patri. repeat Antiphon.

First Reading: I Corinthians 11, 23-26

Appointed Psalms

114 – Tonus Peregrinus arr. David Willcocks (1919–2015)
115 Gerald Knight (1908–1979)

Second Reading, St John’s Gospel, 6, 51-58

Hymn: “Jesus, my Lord, my God, my All”

Reflection, by The Revd. Canon Alistair Macdonald-Radcliff Part I

The Anthem: Ave verum corpus — Colin John Beverley Mawby (1936-2019)

Text attr to Innocent VI, c1260 ; tr .John H. Uhrig, (1943-2013)

Reflection Part II


O salutaris hostia,  Ēriks Ešenvalds (born 1977)

Lynn Eustis & Hailey Fuqua, sopranos
from the Office Hymn for Lauds on the Feast of Corpus Christi,

attributed to Thomas Aquinas (c1225 1274); tr John Herbert Uhrig (1943-2013)]

Tantum ergo sacramentum, op 18, no 1 — Charles-Marie Widor (1844–1937)

(vss 5–6 of the hymn: Pange, lingua, gloriosi Corporis mysterium attr. to Thomas Aquinas, c1263)

Organ Voluntary: Apparition de l’église éternelle — Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992)
(Mark Dwyer, Organist)

The music is from the Sound Archive of the Professional Choir of the Church of the Advent, Boston, by kind permission of the Rector the Revd. Fr. Douglas Anderson and Mark Dwyer the Director of Music.